The Snake Music

(CMP 60)


Music critics of L.A. Weekly voted "The Snake Music" one of ten best recordings of 1994.

"When Nauseef and Tadić invite other players into their music, they coil and circle around them, discreetly establishing the terms upon which the improvisation will develop, shaping the atmospheres. It's a subtle manoeuvering - snakes are never bombastic -and suddenly a musician as strong minded as, say, Jack Bruce is singing and playing a little differently."*

"Essentially, The Snake Music coils back on itself, to reveal - for those who do care to hear - the interconectedness of things..."*

*(from the liner notes by Steve Lake)

  1. Lizard On A Hot Rock (Bruce / Nauseef / Tadić)
  2. The Wind Cries Mary (Hendrix)
  3. Peacock On A Hot Rock (Nauseef / Tadić / Puschnig / Stockhausen)
  4. Rope Ladder To The Moon (Bruce / Brown)
  5. Amarcord (N. Rota)
  6. Who Are The Brain Police (F. Zappa)
  7. Hamburg 2 (M. Tadić)
  8. All Souls Day (Nauseef / Tadić)
  9. Amarcord (N. Rota)
  10. Trio (Nauseef / Tadić / Stockhausen)
  1. Adagio
  2. Largo
  1. Walls Of The Vortex (Nauseef / Tadić / Torn / Quintus)
  2. Fourths (M. Nauseef)

Mark Nauseef on drums and gongs.

Miroslav Tadić on classical, slide and electric guitars.

Jack Bruce on vocals, bass and harmonica.

Wolfgang Puschnig on alto saxophone and hojak (a Korean oboe).

Markus Stockhausen on trumpet.

David Torn on electric guitar.

Walter Quintus on digitalia.

Recorded in June 1992 and June 1993 at Ztudio Zerkall, Germany by Walter Quintus.

Produced by Nauseef & Tadić with Kurt Renker and Walter Quintus.

Photography by Miha Vipotnik.

Art direction by Ulf von Kanitz.